1980’s Action Heroes

So my latest little collection is a bunch of my paintings with a 1980’s theme. The 1980’s for me was very much about action heroes, and these paintings reflect that side of the era.

Danielsan

Danielsan

‘Karate Kid’ had quite an influence on me. Ralph Macchio’s portrayal of Danielsan was a ton of fun. Together with Jean Claude Van Damme’s ‘Bloodsport’ movie, I was convinced to take up karate. Such a classic and iconic character.

Believe

Believe

The Lost Boys was another great movie of the 1980’s. Kiefer Sutherland’s charismatic portrayal of a modern-day vampire was fantastic, while the body-building, oiled up saxophonist, Timmy Capello blasted out a cracking tune at a midnight beach party. The full video is worth a watch. The question is, do you still believe?

Rambo

Rambo

Sylvester Stallone’s great Rocky and Rambo characters were colourful and much visited during the 1980’s. I was all over this quick doodle!

Leave a comment